I’m in Knoxville, TN this morning after spending the day with our friends at Scripps Networks (owners of Food Network, HGTV, Fine Living, etc). A lot of people would probably be surprised to learn that the company that owns 6 cable tv channels, 20 something newspapers, and shopzilla.com is based in Knoxville, a few miles north of the Smokey Mountains National Park. We’ve been working with Scripps for about four years now and they are still one of my favorite groups to work with. It might have something to do with the fact that I love watching the Food Network, but I think it mostly has to do with how nice and friendly they are. We always have a good time out here.

And we always eat really well. Last night we ate at a place called Bistro at the Tracks that had delicious Itialian food. I personally had half a roasted duck that was served with stuffing, creamed corn with truffle oil, and a duck aus jus. Bill G picked out a great bottle of 2002 Whitehall Lane Cabernet that was perfect with the duck. I’m always astounded by this seemingly country boy’s knowledge of food and wine.

Today, Tricia and I head to Nashville via car to meet with a potential customer and afterwards we’ll visit with my sister and her family for about an hour before catching a flight back to Seattle. I’m happy to see my nieces and nephew and pass them some gifts that Kelly and I picked up in Brazil.

