We arrived on Monday and somehow managed to escape most of the effects of jet-lag despite not getting more than 10 minutes of sleep on the flight over. Because I’ve seen very few, new movie releases, I find it my duty to get my fill on long flights like that instead of popping a sleeping pill and sleeping the whole way over, which is what I should be doing. I watched “Failure to Launch” (silly, but fun) and Cinderella Man (very good – I’m quite sure everybody already know this by now though).

You can read about out first few days over on Kelly’s blog. I’ll add that we split our time pretty evenly between shopping, eating, and what I like to call “cultural breaks”. When you’re in a city this old, it seems you must stop into a few old churches and museums. We went into three big, gaudy (NOT Gaudi) chruches downtown and then to the Residenz Museum. I tell ya, when you’ve seen one painting of Ludwig or Bonaparte, you’ve seen them all. I was having flashbacks to when I was a kid and my parents dragged us as lightning pace to museums all over Germany. I was incredibly bored and glad when we left and headed to the beir garten.

The first important discovery on our trip to the fatherland is that of the Radler or Russn. Both of these are basically the same thing, which is a half and half mixture of 7up and beer.

Does that sound gross and wrong? It did to me at first and when I was first offered one I passed with a “Thanks, but I’ll take a real beer.” However, after having sampled one of these Radlers, I can say I’m a fan. They are perfect for the hot summer day as they are incredibly refreshing and it makes it a bit easier to see how Germans can pound liters of beer at a time.

After being on our feet for about 9 hours, we decided that it’d be a great idea to be a great idea to spend the next few more hours on our feet in a public viewing of the semifinal match between Germany and Italy. This leads us to imprtant discovery number 2: Beer at German events is roughly the same cost of beer anywhere else: $3.50. Yes, you can get a half-liter of beer pretty much anywhere in Germany, including at a semifinal match during the largest event in the world for only $3.50! It’s quite a change from the $8 Safeco charges for 16oz!

There were thousands of fans in the park that normally holds Oktoberfest. All of them in Deutschland regalia, a lot of them with Deutschland flags wraped around their body. We were sure Germany was going to win. Germany was sure Germany was going to win.

Germany did not win.

Germany Loses

This pretty much sums up the feeling of the whole country after Italy scores a goal with only a minute left to play in overtime.

*ouch*

It was a quiet walk back to the apartment and our feet hurt so bad from being on them for about 12 hours. Here are some more pictures:

Birtchday Dinner

Our first night in Munich, out to dinner with our hosts. Upon learning of my birthday, the owner of the restaurant gave us a free bottle of Presecco! To take home! Nice man

Kelly at Zara

It couldn’t be a true trip out of the country without a stop at Zara. Important discovery #3. Sizes in the US are twice that of any other country (except maybe Canada). What do I mean? Well, when I buy dress shirts in the US, I’m a small (I KNOW, there’s no way I should be a small at 5’10 and 175 lbs). Here in Europe, I’m a Large and almost an XL. Thanks for making me feel fat, Europe!

Crowd at Fan Fest

Group Pic at Fan Fest

The people at Fan Fest for the semifinal match.

