After spending all morning on airplanes, I checked into the local airport eatery for some BBQ and to do a little work. I looked around an noticed a few people looking at me. Was my BBQ choice a sure sign of being a tourist? Did I have a funny accent?

I realized that this happened while I was plugging my Verizon EVDO card into my laptop, right here in the middle of Sprint/Nextel country. Could my choice of carriers be a big faux pas around here?

On that note, and because it might sound like I bitch alot about technology, I have to say that I’m very impressed with my EVDO card. Based on my testing of the first pre-release VCAST EVDO phones, I expected dropouts and somewhat sluggish speeds, but this has not been the case at all. It’s almost indistinquishable from cable broadband. I’ve even used in the cab doing 70mph down freeways in NY and now, Kansas City. It rocks.

