I write this in my hotel room where it is 9:15pm Wednesday night (7:15 am in Seattle). Despite my flight leaving two hours late, we made it to Sydney 20 minutes early. Man, that is a long flight. I tried my best to stay awake as long as possible on the flight, finally falling asleep at around 3am pacific. i woke up after about 5 hours (maybe 2 am Sydney time) and couldn’t go back to sleep.

Luckily the hotel let me check in at 8am and after a quick shower, I set an 11am wake-up call and went to sleep to try and get on schedule. It seems to have worked as while I’m still ion a bit of a daze today, it isn’t anythign that prevents me from working and has allowed me to stay up tonight and try to get on schedule.

My first impressions of Sydney so far are pretty narrow as I only had time today to head down to Darling Harbour, which was pretty commercial, though I did run across the “Earth from Above” exhibit. Otherwise, I just walked down a few streets near the hotel when not working.  It was rainy today, not unlike Seattle in Feb.

